Cook Pizza in a Cast-Iron Skillet - Cooking - Lifehacker

Think you need a pizza stone to make some great homemade pizza? Megan from DIY home weblog Not Martha suggests trying your trusty cast-iron skillet before shelling out for a uni-tasking pizza stone.

Last night we made pizza and since I really, really wanted to make sure the dough cooked all the way through (this time) I decided to cook it in our large cast iron skillet that I had heated in the oven and slid the pizza into to cook, around 450 degrees.

A commenter on the site had also tried the pizza-in-skillet experiment for Chicago-style pizza with impressive results. We love a well seasoned cast-iron skillet for all kinds of kitchen duties, and it's great to see one more use for the versatile kitchen equipment.

Almost as soon as I get done kicking myself for not thinking of this, I'm gonna try it. (Tonight it's a new borscht recipe from the New York Times. Just made about 60 mushroom-filled dumplings. Anxious to see whether they stay sealed when we cook them)